Skip to content

Oh Oprah…..

April 10, 2008

I have already mentioned that I am not a member of the “First Church Of Oprah”, however I have heard enough Internet chatter to peek my attention. So on Wednesday April 9th I broke my own advise and watched about five whole minutes of her service . That was all I could stomach, of course the show was all about the bestselling book “A New Earth” By Eckhart Tolle”. Now please folks don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of good things that this book says, such as “If the shutters are closed the sunlight cannot come in” and in that same vain there are a lot of good things that come from The famous book “The little engine that could”. I believe my favorite quote’s from that special book would be…. ” I think I can, I think I can” and of course the triumphant “I thought I could, I thought I could” at the end once the little engine realizes that it actually made it. All I am saying is, you can find meaning in and interpret some truth in a lot of good books. Nevertheless I still feel that you will find the most meaning and truth, In the one book that didn’t need”Oprah’s book club” to help it become an all time best seller. That book is the Bible . From a casual observers standpoint Oprah, (it seems to me), is trying to promote a “New Age” philosophy that is very subtle and hidden, couched in words such as “hope”, “life”, “happiness” and “healing”. This time the game has been ratcheted up a notch, you literally need a Psychology degree along with a working knowledge of Philosophy, Eastern Religions, and Quantum Physics. Mr. Tolle weaves in and out of the Ego, and Self concepts and introduces the reader to concepts such as “The pain body” which is a sort of seperate personality of the Ego which develops from painful experiences and hence feeds off of painful experiences. It is like having a Schizophrenic Ego, however; I am no shrink so no need to trust my analysis. After thoroughly confusing the reader, then convincing them that he knows what he is talking about, Tolle then reassures them by assuming that they understand his “verbal jaberwacky” at this point. He begins to talk about reality and consciousness and unconsiousness “All that is real is beingness itself. Consciousness is all there is, pure consciousness.” I guess this is the point when theoretical and quantum physicists get antsy. After reading that quote, I wanted to personally ask “Mr. reality is really fake” (with a straight face mind you) the age old unsolvable conundrum of Schrödinger’s cat. I can tell you now Mr. Tolle nor any of his selves, or non selves, or whatever’s, would survive in a room full of quantum theorists,  Steven Hawking would probably run over him with his wheel chair and Einstein is probably spinning in his grave.  Without realizing it, Tolle has tried to marry several philosophies and sciences together and has single handedly broken nearly every single rule of science , nullifying his own arguments thoroughly.   I’m really sorry folks but I think Mr. Tolle kind of sounds like someone that talks because he likes the sound of his own voice… Besides is “Beingness” even a word? Hey I’m no scientific rocket (haha) or anything, but I do have some advice, and you don’t even need to come lay on a couch or pay me Mr. Tolle… number 1. Do not watch “The Matrix” anymore! 2. Go fly a kite.

Poor Oprah’s Religious/Moral/Common sense compass is just spinning in circles and sadly I think I might know why. She told on herself with this ominous quote. “I am a Christian who believes that there are certainly many more paths to God other than Christianity.”

Sorry Oprah…..The bible is in diametric opposition to that: John 14:6 “Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

“So what do you think happened?” I think it all started some years back when Oprah was becoming Big time famous. I would watch her show and a guest with strong faith in God would come on and Oprah would be right in there with the person and say “yeah, girl uh huh, Amen!” The next show a person of an entirely different religious persuasion would come on and she would go right along with them too. I think (this is just my 2 cents), that she was just being a good host, she didn’t want to put anybody off and wanted people to speak their minds and not show a bias towards one side or the other. However she made it plain that she was born and bred a Christian. The bible makes it plain how her actions are percieved…

Mathew 10:33 “But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.”

When Oprah had the chance to set the record straight who she believed in she made the following statement concerning a statment a minister made about God being a Jealous God. Oprah said…”God is Jealous of me?” Apparently the devil had deafened her ears long ago and blinded her eyes to the truth. She was so way off with this quote I was actually afraid for her.

James 1:8 “A double minded man [is] unstable in all his ways.”

Oprah dear you cannot serve two masters.. Oprah is beginning to show her instability these days in a lot of ways. One of those ways was with that crazy “God is jealous of me” quote, here are some others…

1. Her seeming inability to maintain weight loss, yo yo dieting, even with the best weight loss experts and chefs at her beck and call.

2. Following after a man who does not appear to love her or even need her

3. She has strained family relationships, she revealed to the world that she was molested by a family member. Oprah honey this is the worst way to deal with family issues with all your money, you should have hired some family counselors, and kept the family business out of the headlines!

4. She appears to get swept up in the latest thing going as far as doctrine…Lets read Ephesians 4:11-14

The Bible is clear as to where and from whom we should receive our instruction.

“And He gave some as apostles, and some as prophets, and some as evangelists, and some as pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ; until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ. As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming;” (emphasis mine)

I think 2 Timothy 3:6-8 Describes Mr. Tolle quite well

2 Timothy 3:6-8 “For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts, Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.” (emphasis mine)

Notice the words “ever learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth. Poor Oprah is searching and searching and taking course after course. I thought Iyanla Vansant was the one, then some other person, then another and another. She is doomed to go on and on, until she surrenders her life to the only one that can point her in the right direction. Oprah and all those who attend her church, listen carefully. The directions for peace of mind and true enlightenment are as follows

Get on route 66 ( as in the 66 books of the Bible and read them)

Then turn right and go straight ( as in turn Right around from your current direction and run Straight into the arms of Jesus.

The good thing about these directions is you can do them in any order and they still work!!!!

All writings you see on “Anointedvessels Weblog” are the intellectual property of Yours Truly KDW and are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative Works 3.0 United States License

I believe in giving credit where it is due, I would like to acknowledge The World Trends And Bible Prophecy blog. Thank you for allowing me to use your site for information. To find out more about this blog just look on the blog roll or click on the name of the blog in this message. Videos compiled by the following You Tube User’s Thanks Guys!:

newcchumbles channel

Isim13’schannel

each1reach41’s channel

5 Comments leave one →
  1. lavrai permalink
    April 11, 2008 6:38am

    It is quite sad what Ms. Winfrey is doing. Her head must be all mixed up…because just listening to her explain why she left Christianity to seek other doctrines… it’s quite obvious that she is lost and grasping at straws…to perhaps justify something (her lifestyle? the people she has come to know as friends in Hollywood? I don’t know…)

    This is just one statement, for example:
    “I am a Christian who believes that there are certainly many more paths to God other than Christianity.”

    Does she know that Christianity is only because of Jesus?

    In another clip (http://lavrai.com/blogs/2008/04/02/is-oprah-winfrey-leading-people-to-hell/), Ms. Winfrey makes a comment about Christians putting GOD into a box…based on their ideas of HIM. But, er…isn’t that exactly what she and this Tolle fella is doing?

    “Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ.” (Colossians 2:8)

    Peace, http://www.lavrai.com/blogs

  2. CSP permalink
    April 11, 2008 6:38pm

    Hmmm. A lot of misunderstandings about Tolle in the above post. He is not “blending” a variety of philosophies, religions, sciences, etc. but actually pointing to the Universal Wisdom that is at the basis of all of life and religion. If you dig below the literal, surface story of the Bible and get to its deepest and most profound message you reach a common ground that can be found in everything from quantum physics to Buddhism. I am a Christian who has no conflict with what Tolle is writing or saying because my experience and understanding of the Bible is much more on a symbolic level that points to Truths that cannot be understood with a literal reading. For instance, I don’t handle serpents or drink poison as opposed to those who take the Bible literally and do just that to prove their faith in Jesus. Tolle’s purpose is only to raise people’s awareness of how the ego-mind can stand between a person and God. Instead of doing “His will” we are puppets of “thy will” … in other words the will of the ego. Surrendering to Christ is not possible if we are controlled by the “self-will” of the ego. This is the focus of Tolle and not to lead people away from Christianity. It would be my educated guess that Tolle will actually lead more people to Christianity because of his writings about the ego and self-will and use of copious Biblical references related to these concepts.

  3. April 11, 2008 6:38pm

    Thanks for stopping by lavrai, I will swing by and pay you a visit. God bless you and yours
    Anointed Vessel.

    Thanks for stopping by CSP, I appreciate your comments but must disagree with you. Tolle admits to not “blending” (that was my word) but “investigating” (that’s his word), several religions and managing to find truth in them all. On that point I can agree with him. At the core of most religions you will find a moral commonality that runs throughout, such as don’t kill others, and don’t lie or steal. I too am a Christian but I have a conflict with what Tolle writes. On http://www.lifesitenews.com Tolle was quoted saying this; “mankind is in a moment of crisis, in which the race must either achieve the next stage in its evolution by attaining “higher consciousness”, or destroy itself and the planet.”
    Evolution is a lie, because God created the earth and all life on it and in it. It did not evolve, nor will it evolve into something else. According to scripture Gods chosen (the redeemed, the saved), will receive new bodies that will be changed.
    1 Corinthians 15:51,52 “Behold, I show you a mystery; we shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye….” I am sorry that you only have a “symbolic” experience and understanding of the bible. This is unfortunate, the Bible speaks to this as well. Proverbs 4:7 “Wisdom is the principle thing: therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding. …” If you only have a symbolic understanding than wisdom has no chance….; Hsa 4:6, My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge” The less you know the worse it is for you and that’s just what the devil wants, for you to be deaf, and blind to what he is up to…; 2 Tim. 2:15 15 “Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth”Having a symbolic understanding and relationship certainly doesn’t allow for this type of study…..; Psalms 119:11 “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” If you only have a symbolic experience and understanding you may be in danger and never actually know it…. CSP my experience and understanding of the Bible is “personal”. There is nothing symbolic about the relationship between God and myself. The only symbology I can even think of is how small and undeserving I am to be a recipient of his grace and how Big it was of him to send his only son to die for a wretch like me and many others such as myself. Those that take the bible “literally” do not, (as you have come to the strange conclusion), handle snakes or drink poison. I don’t know any who do… I pray to God and I ask him to let “his” will be done, “thy and thine” are “Old English and words for “you and your” translated from the emphatic Greek and Hebrew personal pronoun, stressing the identity of the one being addressed to the exclusion of all others.” (www.ecclesia.org/truth/thou.html.) God is all knowing and I am sure he does not get hung up on semantics and I am not about to play word games either. Surrendering to Christ is possible, but the “Carnal man, Flesh, Ego, Id” or whatever name you want to give it must die, and you must submit yourself to God. Colossians 3:5 NIV: “Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry.” When this is done the Devil will flee and God will begin to work in your life. James 4:7 “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” Tolle’s “copious” Biblical references are illegal uses and twisting of scriptures which is forbidden according to the word of God, Deut. 4:2 “You shall not add to the word which I command you, nor take from it, that you may keep the commandments of the Lord your God which I command you.”; Prov. 30:5-6 “Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him. Do not add to His words, lest He rebuke you, and you be found a liar.” If by some chance Tolle has managed to sway you closer to God, than my heart is not so heavy. On the other side of the coin however, if you have been pulled away from a true relationship with God then my heart is heavy for I do not wish for one soul to be lost. I pray that yours is not
    God’s blessings be upon you and yours
    Anointed Vessel

  4. April 15, 2008 6:38pm

    Yikes! CSP’s comment is scary. The Holy Bible states one truth and it’s quite literal — salvation is only through Christ Jesus, the Only Begotten Son of GOD.

    It doesn’t get any deeper than that, and I certainly don’t see how the world as we know it today will rally around that…and it is the Universal Truth.

    Peace, http://www.lavrai.com/blogs

  5. April 15, 2008 6:38pm

    I can’t agree with you more lavrai, we must uphold CSP in prayer that this precious soul not be lost. Be blessed my friend.
    Anointed…

Leave a Reply

