Skip to content

The Pink Tornado

April 30, 2008

Here in my home state of Virginia we had a couple of tornado’s blow through here and tear some stuff up! Thankfully folks were able to get out with their lives and that is what counts. I don’t really want to talk about weather so much as I want to talk about another natural phenomena that can cause as much or more destruction. The type of destruction that this tornado can cause are: riots, mayhem, death, and more. What am I talking about? None other than the “pink tornado” the tongue…. Yep that little thing in your mouth, the bible calls it a “little member” James 3:2-10 For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body. 3. Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. 4. Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. 5. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth! 6. And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body, and setteth on fire the course of nature; and it is set on fire of hell. 7. For every kind of beasts, and of birds, and of serpents, and of things in the sea, is tamed, and hath been tamed of mankind: 8. But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. 9. Therewith bless we God, even the Father; and therewith curse we men, which are made after the similitude of God. 10. Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be.

Wow that little thing in your mouth is dangerous! Well it seems lately that we have had a slight problem with some overly zealous pink tornado’s out there! Just whirling and twirling, and wreaking all sorts of havoc, dividing the country down the middle, and families too. Friends are parting ways and feelings are getting trampled. Of course you get the occasional, “I’m sorries”, and “Oh I didn’t mean to say that”, but the Bible begs to differ with you on that. You see, according to Mathew 12:34; “it is out of the abundance of the heart that the mouth speaks,” so it has to be in you to come out of you! The dangerous things about words are, once you have launched them, you can’t take them back, they are on a mission and they won’t stop until they reach their intended target. “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me”, I have never heard a bigger lie! Words have started wars, and killed millions, a single command can cause half of the lives on the planet to be forever changed, in the event of a thermonuclear war. Words do hurt more than the speaker realizes, often times not until it’s too late. Tornado’s in nature are ignorant, they form when a random set of variables, combine just right, and cause a funnel cloud to develop within a storm. Tornado’s are quick, and then their gone. What about sharp tongued, hasty, folks out there with the little pink tornado’s that don’t form on land but in the mouth? Proverbs 29:20 “Do you see a man who is hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.” (NASB) Well what if a few things the person said was true, and maybe needed to pointed out, even though it was said with venom, pride, and scripture twisting to suite their cause? Ok that’s a long question so let me break it down. First of all no matter how Right you may think you are, the rest of the world may not agree with you! The Bible has something to say about this too… 1Corinthians 10:23 “All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.” So basically, when you are done and you descend from your soap box what are the results? Are there bodies laying in the floor? Are people standing and applauding or are they running for the nearest exits? Even If you are speaking some things which may ring true, a lot of times you will lose your spiritually discerning audience with a venomous attitude and pride. How about the scripture twisting to suite their cause? Well Proverbs 30:5-6 says; Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him. Do not add to His words, lest He rebuke you, and you be found a liar”. Well what about other folks they seem to be able to say ugly things of almost the same vain as some people and get away with it while others are crucified, why is that? Let me answer that for you, not everything is as it seems, I remember when I was in the military my C.O. telling us this; “Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear”, that taught me to do my homework and learn to think on my feet and do as the bible says; James 1:19 “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:20 For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God.” That doesn’t need interpretation to understand just take it like it is. Just because somebody else gets away with doing wrong or saying idle words does that give you the right to jump on the horse and do it too? Then there is always timing, there is a time and place for everything, some people pick the worst times in the world to decide they have a bone to pick. The bible warns of this in Proverbs 25:8, “Go not forth hastily to strive, lest thou know not what to do in the end thereof, when thy neighbour hath put thee to shame.” Sometimes you can get “hung by your own tongue” and then you don’t know what to do next. My question is, did you acknowledge God first as he instruct his children to do? Proverbs 3:6 “in all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” My younger brother who is a Marine Captain, tells his people all the time; “People won’t know how dumb you are until you open your mouth”. At first this quote, is a little disarming and may make you take a step back and might even make you offended. However if you think about it, it actually makes sense. I even use this quote as advice and it has worked. Perfect example… I have rubbed shoulders with some people in high places, and I fit right in. I was in my 1st yr of college, and was involved in a political club that did some campaign work for a candidate. Naturally we get invited to a real bougie party with some high level people, I was totally out of my element and I knew it. However; those folks thought I knew just as much as they did, when in all actuality, I had no clue what they were talking about. How did I accomplish this? I watched and kept my mouth closed. I shook my head generally when everybody else did and kept a semi-serious or scholarly look on my face the whole time. I was completely ignorant or dumb but they didn’t know it because I didn’t open my dumb mouth! I just shook my head, and said hmm at about the right time and kept my conversation on things I actually knew, like the shoes, science Etc. Don’t you have to defend yourself if you are attacked I mean, what if somebody puts you down. Ok my answer to that is, how are you defined? Are you defined by what people say about you or who you are in God (for the Christians out there). If you are defined by who you are in Christ, it matters not what folks say about you. If you feel the need to defend yourself then you showing pride. Pride is dangerous let me say that again. PRIDE IS DANGEROUS!!! Pride will make folks do some stupid stupid stupid things. Take Cain for instance, when God didn’t recieve his offering he got angry with God and stormed off. Look at the exchange between the two: Genesis 4:6-7 “And the LORD said unto Cain, Why art thou wroth? and why is thy countenance fallen? If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted? and if thou doest not well, sin lieth at the door. And unto thee shall be his desire, and thou shalt rule over him.” Ok so God asks Cain, hey son what’s wrong (he already knew but he just wanted to talk to him), He tell him look man if you just do what you know is right to do, don’t you know I will accept you? But if you don’t do what you know is right, Sin is lying in wait right at your doorstep. And you are what he wants. And you are supposed to rule over him. So folks what is the opposite you ruling over sin? Yep you got it Sin ruling over you! Now lets move on…. So Cain is still mad after he had a counseling session with God himself. Can you imagine, this wasn’t Doctor Phil Cain talked to this was the GREATEST OF ALL COUNSELORS and of course Cain blew him off because he had what? Uh huh that’s right class spell it for me…. P-R-I-D-E …… So of he goes and kills his brother Abel, now what does this crazy spirit cause this fool to do? Read and learn…. Genesis 4:9 “And the LORD said unto Cain, Where is Abel thy brother? And he said, I know not: Am I my brother’s keeper” Ok did yall see that? This man is so full of pride that he back talks to GOD! So listen folks that is how crazy pride is, it will cause you to do some stupid things and it is intricately connected to the smallest member ( according to the bible) and that is the pink tornado…. Your tongue. One more word of wisdom from the bible;Proverbs 18:13 “He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him.” Hey a smart person learns from their mistakes an even smarter person learns from the mistakes of others! I read an excerpt of a paper from a man by the name of Bill Allin and He sums up a lot of what I was trying to say with the three quotes I pulled from his paper.

“You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers. You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.”
Naguib Mahfouz, writer (1911-)

“A clever man will alway tell you answers. He will tell you things you may not even care about. His purpose is to impress. To be more accurate, his purpose is, like that of Narcissus, to see himself reflected in the reaction on your face.”

“It may be arrogance, hubris or insecurity that causes him to seek a reaction from you. You are the fulfillment of the need of a clever man. You are the audience that satisfies his need.”
So folks let’s all take a deep breath and think long and hard before we speak, or even comment on something because our little pink tornado can do a lot of harm or a lot of good. The choice is yours!

A Prayer For All…. Whether You Agree Or Not… It Matters Not

I am an ambassador for peace and the Bible says in Proverbs 18:21″death and life are in the power of the tongue and those that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” So I speak life over all of my readers, and I speak blessings into their lives, and I speak that all the crooked ways be made straight through the mighty power of God. I speak life to every dead situation in their lives, I speak life to finances, job situations, marriages, families, and whatever concerns there may be I speak life and peace. I bind the hand of the enemy in their lives, and rebuke you in the mighty name of Jesus, the blood of Jesus be against you. I pray for this nation that we live in. I pray for our president, I pray you bless him with the wisdom to do what is right according to your will God and not his will or ours. Show yourself mighty in the situation in our economy God, breath life and cause America to reverse course now and turn to you while they have time. I speak life now to our country, and to our soldiers in every country throughout the world, cover them God, shield them from danger, and comfort those who have lost their loved ones. God forgive us for our sins, known and unknown cover them with the shed blood from calvary and allow us to start again. Forgive our country. I speak life now and not death. I speak life over the abortion situation, God intervene and cause the senseless slaughter to stop, I bind the murderous spirit wandering the streets of our cities in the mighty name of Jesus, you will stop killing our young men and women in their youth through senseless violence. I speak life over the drug and gang situation, God you said we have not because we ask not, so I am asking that you hear the cries of your people. I am a single soul, but I believe others will read this prayer and stand with me as I stand in prayer for this country and for all of those that want real change. Not the change that comes with a song but change that comes with a promise of eternal life. Only through you will we see this. I speak life God. I stand on your word that everything that is bound on earth is bound in heaven, I know that you are up their backing me up while I pray! Now God, I thank you in advance for what you are about to do, and I thank you for what you have already done and for what you are doing now. I know your will is going to be done, I thank you for the life that you are about to impart over our nation. I thank you for the real change. I thank your for the lives that will be saved and the lives that will turn from sin permanently. I speak life and it is the mighty name of your son Jesus I pray. Amen and amen..

Your daughter Anointedvessel

All posts on Anointedvessel’s Weblog are the intellectual property of KDW and are licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative Works 3.0 United States License

I believe in giving credit where it is due so I have a long list of people to thank and quotes to list so bear with me folks… just keeping it honest.

I would like to thank my Dad, the two of us talk all the time and it is his great wisdom that taught me everything I know now, Including the word of God.
I Have to thank my uncle Evangelist Robert L. Bellamy (Representing COGIC) for preaching to me about Cain and pride. Without him, writing this post would not have been possible (come on folks, did you really think I was that smart!)

Quotes:

“You can tell whether a man is clever by his answers. You can tell whether a man is wise by his questions.”
Naguib Mahfouz, writer (1911-)
Bill Allin
Paper Entitled “The Clever Man Tells the Wise Man Knows Quietly
From ‘Turning It Around: Causes and Cures for Today’s Epidemic Social Problems, striving to show the difference.’
“Hung by the tongue” Francis P. Martin

“People will never know how dumb you are until you open your mouth” ( Author unknown)

“Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear” Dinah Mulock Craik( 1826-1887)

All scriptures used are public Domain

Did I leave anything out? You guys know what to do… leave a comment and correct me

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

