Skip to content

False Prophets/Profit$

June 25, 2008

Good day…Anointed Vessel readers!!! This post will cover two major topics and that is False prophets and their affects on the church in general, and Todd Bentley a person of interest when it comes to this topic. First we’ll cover Mr. Bentley.. Drum Roll Please….Introducing Todd Bentleyyyyyy…….

Todd Bentley (born 1976) is a Canadian Evangelical Christian and evangelist. He is one of the primary preachers involved in the Charismatic revival meetings in Lakeland, Florida known as the Florida Healing Outpouring. Attendance at the meetings has reached as high as 10,000 visitors a night from around the world.

Ok that’s nice so what’s so bad about that you say? Oh not so much but one of my nicknames is C.S.I. and you are about to see why! Hat tip to my brother over at the Independent Conservative for highlighting some of this guys more colorful stunts.

Here is a point by point breakdown of this man and his ministry and why I say as Children of God we need to heed and read!! We are quickly becoming a generation of sign seekers and that folks makes me want to sound the alarm!

After his conversion, Bentley did not adopt a conservative persona akin to the archetype commonly associated with Billy Graham and other well known Christian evangelists. Bentley’s arms and neck are covered with tattoos, he has multiple facial piercings, and he favors t-shirts over ties. These choices, especially the decision to continue to add tattoos to his body after becoming a preacher, have been a consistent point of debate and discussion in media articles about Bentley.. Fellow evangelist Randy Clark has said; “Some people are judging it because Todd doesn’t look like your typical evangelist. Bentley contends; “I don’t look like your normal evangelist because I’m not.

Okayeee! Did I just read what I thought I read?.. “continue to add tattoos to his body after becoming a preacher” yep looks like I did. Now the bible clearly states in Leviticus 19:28 “Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you: I am the LORD.” I’m going to go easy on him on this one because I think(I repeat I think), I know what he might be doing, and this is a common misunderstanding among young ministers. They will take this scripture 1 Corinthians 9:22 “To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.” I am going to go out on a limb (for his sake) and say he might have failed to properly exegete this scripture and took it out of proper context: “I am made all things to all men” I can’t tell you how many times I have heard that as the excuse for all sorts of extraordinarily risky and sometimes downright risqué things going on in church’s. I’ve already talked about how the church has become more of an “Experience” for people, who have been trained to expect entertainment not nourishment. Some youth pastor’s I have spoken to tell me, “oh well I play secular music because that’s what the kids listen to outside and I don’t want them to feel uncomfortable when they come to us”. WHAT! (wait for it.. the top hasn’t blow off yet…) Then they always throw 1 Cor. 9:22 in there blah blah blah blah blah….. Let me explain this ONCE AGAIN! The church is a place for the sin sick, it is a hospital, a place of refuge, nourishment etc. When the world walks in there should be a noticeable and tangible difference, you shouldn’t have to do a whole lot of talking to them, the very environment will let them know what the deal is. Because the lines have been blurred and pastors have decided to try to take the HOLY SPIRITS job of drawing people to the Lord. They take to tattooing and piercing and hiring rock bands and Hip Hop/Gospel Artist mix-ups (whatever that mess is) which further confuses an already lost world. So now there is a club atmosphere in most churches and it is noticeable on a lot of Sunday’s! Most churches won’t be packed unless it’s the Sunday that the special choir sings. Why is that? So everybody can get there dance on… Plain and simple(but that is a whole nother post). Back to the point I believe that 1Cor. 9:22 was not “rightly divided” and this poor soul is not teachable, nor is he approachable so a correction may not be made. Here is a proper exegete/commentary of 1Cor. 9:22

Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary

“9:15-23 It is the glory of a minister to deny himself, that he may serve Christ and save souls. But when a minister gives up his right for the sake of the gospel, he does more than his charge and office demands. By preaching the gospel, freely, the apostle showed that he acted from principles of zeal and love, and thus enjoyed much comfort and hope in his soul. And though he looked on the ceremonial law as a yoke taken off by Christ, yet he submitted to it, that he might work upon the Jews, do away their prejudices, prevail with them to hear the gospel, and win them over to Christ. Though he would transgress no laws of Christ, to please any man, yet he would accommodate himself to all men, where he might do it lawfully, to gain some. Doing good was the study and business of his life; and, that he might reach this end, he did not stand on privileges. We must carefully watch against extremes, and against relying on any thing but trust in Christ alone. We must not allow errors or faults, so as to hurt others, or disgrace the gospel.”

Allright on to the next point…and folks let me warn you this one is just plain silly and sad!  Click title to see  all  4  pages.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

2 Comments leave one →
  1. escapeetoo permalink
    July 7, 2008 6:38am

    Good to see someone else speaking out against this demon. But most pastors here in Ga won’t even mention him.

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/demon-heretic-watch-todd-bentley/

  2. July 7, 2008 6:38pm

    I have to escapeetoo, but I am not alone look to your left to the blog rolls and links and all those you see are speaking out against him as well. Take a look at their sites you will see that their is a mighty army that is ready to stand against the powers of the enemy!
    Be blessed.
    ~Anointed
    PS thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

