Skip to content

Prophecy or Prophe-SEE?

July 2, 2008

I recently posted a point by point argument against those that seek to destroy God’s kingdom through using the gift of prophecy to deceive.  The person of interest was Todd Bentley.  For some time, I was put off by most if not all prophets.  There are a few I trust, my current pastor, my former pastor, E. Edwards of South Carolina, and now Miriam FranklinWho is Miriam Franklin?  She is one of the few people who I believe have proven to be exactly what they say they are.  I stumbled upon her site one day after writing about Todd Bentley.  I began to pour over her prophecies and her posts.  I read over her prophecies from the past to various figures that some would consider “Giants in the faith”.  These prophesies were sent out as warnings to these people which obviously went unheeded because as many of you know a lot of these people are now walking in misery and ruin for their transgressions.  The transgressions they committed were not only against themselves, but more importantly, they were against God.  Personally, I have seen a lot of Tom Foolery and fake prophe-lying in my years of being raised in a pentecostal environment.  I remember the many tent revivals that were popular in the years of my youth and are strangely making a comeback.  I can remember the steamy summer months during revival season when I would be in the country visiting a relative and end up going to some weird revival.  Without fail, there was usually some charlatan in the middle of it all convincing an entire town that he was everything just short of the coming Messiah.  Even as a child I knew that they were there for one thing and that was money… They had mastered the art of illusion and mesmerism, they usually traveled with their own musicians who would usually whoop the crowd into a near frenzy.  (Once again I see the need to do a post on the power of music), I noticed that after they had sufficiently lathered up the crowd they would, (in so many words), start their sales pitch.  To put an explanation point on what I just said, they would usually have people pay for prophecies and blessings.  For example… they would have a prophecy that someone in the room would give a thousand dollars and that person would receive it back 100 fold. Then, some victim would always fall for it and go up there and give their hard earned money that they probably weren’t financially able to part with.  Or just the opposite, a prideful “look at me I’m the center of the universe”, “gain is Godliness” type who just wanted to be seen, would go flying up there.  The prophet would look like they would be overcome with some anointment (yah I said that right) because it wasn’t anointing by any stretch of the imagination. Once they had everyone’s attention, they would stagger around, throw their hands on the victims forehead after they turned over their money, (of course), and the prophet would say things like, “I see you becoming a millionaire”, or I see a new car, or new house and blah blah blah. I declare in some of those revivals these guys were so good they could have told the congregation that “The Hokey Pokey was all it was really all about” and I guarantee you the whole congregation have probably all gotten up turned around shook a leg and sat down. The Bible warns of these types in 1 Titus 1:10-11: “There are many unruly and vain talkers and deceivers, specially they of the circumcision : Whose mouths must be stopped, who subvert whole houses, teaching things which they ought not, for filthy lucre’s sake.”  So why the title Prophecy or Prophe-SEE, Anointed?  Easy… I am a natural analyst I study voice inflection, tonal quality, facial and body language and most importantly I discern the spirit in which people speak and act. My daughter likes to call me the walking lie detector.  From the time I was little, I have almost always been able to tell when someone was lying and I don’t recall too many times when I was wrong.  Even as a child, I instinctively read body language that was inconsistent with what a person was saying, this led to a life with very few friends as I could see right through people as though they were glass. It is as if a persons true intentions were hanging over their heads like a neon sign. I believe what I have is a God given gift and I believe that a lot of these so called prophets may have a similar gift.  What is so insidious is what gave me the idea for the title, these people are not relying on the power of God for prophecy but they are using their gift of analysis to prophe-SEE.  They are reading the audience through keen observation.  Now don’t get me wrong, I believe that this ability to tune in to fine detail actually comes with the gift from God, but it is not to take advantage of people but it is to help discern carnal versus spiritual.  Like I said, I am a walking lie detector and I have had people tell me lots of stories that sound a bit off.  Immediately, my gift to analyze their body language kicks in and augments my gift of discernment.  This serves as a time preserver as the devil will send spirits of distraction through people to waste your time and get you away from your God given assignment. This part of my gift however, has no place in prophecy as prophecy comes straight from God and not from scanning the audience and reading body language. So like I said before the gifting is the same, but the BIG difference is who anointed it?  The Devil or God?  What do you mean Anointed?  Ok let me explain.  For every gift of God the devil has a counterfeit, for every anointing the devil has one too and for every miracle the devil can produce a counterfeit.  Do you remember the story in the Bible when the rod of Moses turned into a snake and the Pharaoh’s magicians did the same?  What they did was produce a counterfeit miracle, however; God will always prevail because the snake that Moses’ rod produces gobbled up Pharaoh’s magicians’ snake.  So where does the counterfeiting come in?  Well let me put it this way, true prophets are gifted by God, and as they mature their gifting becomes anointed  by Him. So what I believe occurs is one of two things: 1. These prophets are gifted by God, but this gift became polluted when it got anointed  by Satan and a series of unfortunate events led this person not to the church but elsewhere, to become a psychic. Remember “the gifts of God are without repentance”, so they may be gifted but God is not the power and anointing behind it. Satan is the power behind it by cheapening the gift with a counterfeit anointing. 2. On the other hand, there are some who are not gifted by God at all, but gifted by Satan, and anointed by him to take advantage of the kingdom and the saints who fail to discern as the bible admonishes us to do. 1John 4:1 “Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.”  These are basically cheap stage magicians who have mastered the art of entertainment.  Because the church has become so “experience” motivated and oriented, a lot of people fall for these charlatans hook, line, sinker, fisherman, and boots. So the next time you are in a prophetic or revival service, don’t be afraid to discern what is going on around you. I have a prophetic gifting but I don’t need to read body language to get a word from the Lord. I don’t need to ask questions.  To me that is a red herring, when a prophet begins asking leading questions, then they are outside of God and out of order and are getting ready to get embarrassed by me(if they are speaking to me that is). I am quick to tell someone if they are dead wrong.  No true prophet should be wasting time in the service with “cold reads” and asking things such as: Do you like the color red?  I see you with children around , do you like children?  I had this done to me and I knew this was not of God. If God is speaking to you, why are you asking me questions?  You should be able to do as the prophets in the bible, speak a word turn around and not look back, secure in the knowledge that “Thus sayeth the Lord”.

So I guess you can’t make it any plainer than that!

Introducing Prophetess Miriam Franklin

All posts on Anointedvessel’s Weblog are the intellectual property of KDW and are licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative Works 3.0 United States License

Giving Credit Where It Is Due: working on it ……

Picture credit: Every stock photo imageId=222947

 
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    June 13, 2010 6:38pm

    B******s Rosalind… Get thee behind me..!

  2. June 17, 2010 6:38am

    Thanks for stopping by Anonymous sorry bout the censor but according to my international book of swear words yours qualified. BTW who might Rosalind be???

Leave a Reply

