Skip to content

The Oops That Became A Wow!!! Putting On A Happy Face In Spite Of Circumstances

July 30, 2008

I learned a very important lesson by watching a video of Miss USA falling during the Miss Universe pageant this year. My sister sent me the video and said she was inspired by Miss USA’s reaction. When Miss USA fell, she had two choices:

1. Get up and try not to look too embarrassed

or

2. Lay there, be hurt and let someone else pick her up and carry her out of the contest.

To my surprise and delight, Miss USA hopped up and not only did she conceal every ounce of embarrassment, but she did something I haven’t seen before when that has happened. Miss USA applauded for herself! Wow, if only everybody in the body of Christ can react like that when we fall. In our Christian walk, “we fall down but we get up”, just like Donnie McKlurkin said. However, it is how we recover and how fast that makes the difference. I learned that lesson the hard way. I fell and stayed right where I was for a long time. Pride and embarrassment would not allow me to move past my fall. I was even feeling a little sorry for myself when I was watching the video. That is when God began speaking to me and said, “Look at her. She not only got up, but also started clapping.” Soooo…what is the spiritual significance? Well clapping your hands is a form of “Praise”, hmm imagine that! When you suffer a fall or disappointment, by recovering quickly and allowing God to brush you off and restore you, you defy the trap laid by the enemy. When you “Praise” God during these times that is when the devil get’s confused. I can imagine him saying to his imps, “Hey, I clearly saw you stick your hoof out to trip her. Now why is she getting up and praising God and smiling?” The fall had to hurt Miss USA, but you would never know it because she refused to show it. Why is that? Well, I explained it somewhat carnally but let’s look into the spiritual again. Every valley, every dry place, every fall in our Christian walk hurts. However, it is up to you how long it has to hurt. You can have an Oops and stay there or you can have an Oops that becomes a Wow. God can take the mess of our lives and make a message for all the world to see .

Romans 8:28 “All things work together for the good of them that love the Lord and are called according to his purpose.”

Blessings to all and Agape love….

~Anointed

All posts on Anointedvessel’s Weblog are the intellectual property of KDW and are licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative Works 3.0 United States License

Giving credit where it is due:

My Sissy K. Nakia  who named this post and sent me the video that inspired it!  I love you my sister dear!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. TEAII permalink
    July 30, 2008 6:38pm

    All I can say is “wow”. This is a very inspiring post, Anointed. Just what I needed today. Keep it coming!

  2. July 31, 2008 6:38pm

    Thanks Elder T. God bless you!!!

Leave a Reply

