Skip to content

Walking in the light

August 5, 2008

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path…..

I have heard that verse a million and one times, and even heard a song with those words in it but I never really thought about it beyond the fact, that it was in the Bible and sounded nice. That is until the lights went out one night…… During one of our areas more violent summer storms, the electricity winked out and I heard the familiar, far away “BOOM” of a nearby transformer blowing. I immediately stopped typing on the computer and called out for my daughter to stay where she was. The safety light in the hallway glowed proudly in it’s little socket, having done it’s job to wink on, when everything else winked off. I pulled the little light out of the socket in the hallway and made my way to the drawer where we keep all the flashlights, matches, and candles. That is when it struck me, I looked in amazement as that one little light lit up nearly the entire room. Outside of the occasional flashes of lightning, everything was pitch black, but thanks to my little light I could see where I was going. I gathered up flashlights, and set them at various points in the house, since the flashlights are made in the style of lanterns, that helped a lot. I still however couldn’t get over how powerful that little safety light was. While I was sitting and waiting for the storm to pass, the lights winked back on . I dutifully put the safety light back in the socket in the hallway, and began turning off flashlights and putting them away. I plugged the TV back in and watched TV for a while until I got sleepy. That’s when I thought of two different verses, and that little safety light. The first was… “Let your light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify the father which is in heaven.” Mathew 5:16. I used to wonder, about that verse, I used to think to myself…”What kind of difference can I make in a world so dark I am just one person.” A lot of times I am only one person in a group of many that will stand for what is right, I am a moral minority in many situations. Because of my age, my peer group often seems to want to do more things that are not in line with a Godly life and a Christian walk. A lot of times I am left standing alone. That stormy night however; God spoke to me, in the way that only he can, by showing me through that one little safety light, just how powerful one little light can be in a dark room. Through the storm, rain, lightning, hail, and power outage, that little safety light lit my path to where I could get more light to brighten my environment. I know this sounds like a parable or riddle but it really is just that simple. You see, WE as children of God represent light in a dark world, hence the verse. No matter how dark your situation or environment is, there is no darkness that can stand in the presence of light . That little safety light that was smaller than my hand, pushed away an entire roomful of darkness.  The second verse I thought about, is the one that goes…. “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Psalms 119:105 Here, the little light is cast in a different role, it represents the word of God. When you read and study the word of God, by rightly dividing it, and receiving revelation from God, and not from TV, you will find that the words of wisdom found within, transcend the sands of time. The verse warning to “abstain from the very appearance of evil“, written over 2000 yrs ago, makes as much sense now as it did then. It will bring light to a path that has been darkened by sin. The lamp unto your feet will keep you from misstepping, which will cause you to fall along the way. So there you have it, my little revelation involving a storm, a safety light, and 2 bible verses. It changed my view on things (pun intended), how bout you?

~Anointed

All posts on Anointedvessel’s Weblog are the intellectual property of KDW and are licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative Works 3.0 United States License

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

