Skip to content

You Say Potato And I Say pa-taught-toe (I think that’s spelled right)

February 25, 2009

Yall know the song.

I just thought I’d talk about potatoes today because a very funny thing happened to me on the way home the other day and it has to do with our current  economic recession.  Now everybody knows Arby’s is where the people with money go if they want fast food and Wendy’s is where everybody else go’s that wants to keep their little bit of money.  But I’m only talking potatoes NOT the whole menu!  Me personally….I eat at home because I have Celiac disease (go look it up) and it’s just better to eat at home anyway.  The only menu items I ever get are a salad from Wendy’s or a baked potato.  I don’t like the way Wendy’s bakes their potatoes so I switched to Arby’s.  I like to treat myself once of twice a month with this on the way home and I have never ever ever had a problem.  That is until now,  Every single Arby’s I went to on this particular day was out of potatoes!  When I pulled up to the last Arby’s that I was willing to drive to,  I actually laughed and pulled up to the drive thru and asked the girl “Hey did the potato truck not come for you guys?”  she answered,  “No everybody has just been ordering potatoes”.  That’s when it hit me,  the potato is the most filling and cheapest meal on the menu, it’s what they ate in the depression, it’s what people planted and ate through all different times of economic down turns.  As a matter of fact here is some rather interesting nutritional facts on the potato.

Potatoes contain vitamins and minerals that have been identified as vital to human nutrition. Humans can subsist healthily on a diet of potatoes and milk; the latter supplies Vitamin A and Vitamin D.[22]A medium potato (150g/5.3 oz) with the skin provides 27 mg of vitamin C (45% of the Daily Value (DV)), 620 mg of potassium (18% of DV), 0.2 mg vitamin B6 (10% of DV) and trace amounts of thiamin, riboflavin, folate, niacin, magnesium, phosphorus, iron, and zinc. Moreover, the fiber content of a potato with skin (2 grams) equals that of many whole grain breads, pastas, and cereals. Potatoes also contain an assortment of phytochemicals, such as carotenoids and polyphenols.

Well gee,  folks are a lot smarter than they give themselves credit,  people are driving less,  people are not buying dvd’s but renting them from netflix, or going to a cheap 2nd run $1.99 theatres….Hey that’s how I saw Quantum of Solace and the theatre was packed to the gills.  So there you have it,  or rather the Taters have it!  I would say this is one of the more notable changes that I have noticed…Why do I say that?  Well I did a little experiment, for 2 days I tried to get a baked potato at Arby’s and could not find nary a one.  The Taters have made a hardship comeback!everystockphoto_177234_m_

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

